GatorNBS takes on Hollywood, CA

Hi everyone,

What a week it has been here in Los Angeles, California representing UF’s wonderful College of Journalism and Communications. I’ve learned so many new skills and have met many great people. If you’d like a quick recap of what we did this week, I briefly blogged about it on my wordpress website.

Now, on to the exciting news! As usual, UF dominated the student competition. This year, we had 15 finalists in the national competition. That alone is a huge accomplishment. Tonight (Saturday, March 15), UF took home 6 total awards!!!

  • Leanna Scachetti, Audio News Package, Grand Prize (Plane Crash Breaking Newscast)
  • Lauren Rautenkranz, Video Feature Package, Grand Prize (Local farm benefitting from Halloween)
  • Bothaina Saleh, Video Open Category, Grand Prize, WUFT News Veterans Day Special
  • Lauren Rautenkranz, NBS-AERho Member of the Year
  • University of Florida, Chapter of the Year
  • Shahd El Lamei, Instagram On the Spot Competition

I am so incredibly proud and honored to be a part of such a great university! The Chapter of the Year award was something I have been striving for during my time as the GatorNBS President. I’d love to know if this is a first for UF!? I’m glad our hard work paid off. I’m also so happy with all 20 students who attended this week. They networked with professionals, asked questions during panel discussions, met with other students from different chapters, acted and dressed very professionally, and were consistently on their best behavior. Next year, NBS heads to Atlanta, GA for the annual convention.

I’ll be back in Gainesville for WUFT News at Six on Monday. I cannot wait to get back to my second home! Feel free to share this great news with others in our college. 🙂

Best,
Lauren Rautenkranz
GatorNBS President
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Leave a Reply

